Golf Rule 9, Information As To Strokes Taken

    Golf Rule 9, Information as to Strokes Taken – Simplified Version




    9-1. Penalty strokes are always included in the player’s number of strokes taken.

    9-2. In match play, a player can ask his opponent how many strokes the opponent has taken on the hole they’re playing; once the hole is finished, the player can ask how many strokes the opponent took on the hole. The opponent must answer honestly.

    An opponent is regarded as having provided false information if he: fails to notify his competitor in a timely manner of penalty strokes incurred; gives incorrect info as to the number of strokes taken while playing a hole; gives incorrect info as to strokes taken after finishing a hole. Any of these situations can be remedied if the opponent corrects the false info before his competitor hits the next shot.




    Penalty for violating Rule 9-2: Loss of hole.

    9-3. In stroke play, a golfer must tell the marker (the person keeping his score) in a timely manner about any penalty strokes incurred.

    9-1. General
    The number of strokes a player has taken includes any penalty strokes incurred.

    9-2. Match Play
    a. Information as to Strokes Taken
    An opponent is entitled to ascertain from the player, during the play of a hole, the number of strokes he has taken and, after play of a hole, the number of strokes taken on the hole just completed.

    b. Wrong Information
    A player must not give wrong information to his opponent. If a player gives wrong information, he loses the hole.

    A player is deemed to have given wrong information if he:(i) fails to inform his opponent as soon as practicable that he has incurred a penalty, unless (a) he was obviously proceeding under a Rule involving a penalty and this was observed by his opponent, or (b) he corrects the mistake before his opponent makes his next stroke; or
    (ii) gives incorrect information during play of a hole regarding the number of strokes taken and does not correct the mistake before his opponent makes his next stroke; or
    (iii) gives incorrect information regarding the number of strokes taken to complete a hole and this affects the opponent’s understanding of the result of the hole, unless he corrects the mistake before any player makes a stroke from the next teeing ground or, in the case of the last hole of the match, before all players leave the putting green.

    A player has given wrong information even if it is due to the failure to include a penalty that he did not know he had incurred. It is the player’s responsibility to know the Rules.

    9-3. Stroke Play
    A competitor who has incurred a penalty should inform his marker as soon as practicable.