Golf Rules Golf Rule 19 Ball In Motion Deflected Or Stopped Video
So now we’re coming to rule 19. Now rule 19 is talking about a ball that is in motion that is stopped or deflected or moved by another ball or another thing, so should I say. So a ball in motion deflected or stopped. Now this covers five different points, five different things could stop this ball that's in motion. Now it's going to wipe the rain off the screen of the iPad or the iPhone of destiny now to read the app. So Rule 19.1 is a ball this is moved, or stop, deflected by an outside agency. Now an outside agency is a bird flying through the sky or a dog running across the ground.
Now if your ball is in motion and it’s stopped by a bird, you play as it lies. Now that's one of the weirdest rules that I don't think is actually particularly fair. I’ve hit this cracking drive straight down the middle and it pings a pigeon right in the face. The ball drops down. I've got to go and play that. That doesn't seem particularly fair to me. Those are the breaks, those are the rules, because that's a ball that is stopped by an outside agency. Now a ball in motion that is deflected or stopped by a player, partner, caddie or equipment, there's going to be penalties here, aren’t there.
So it's my ball is stopped by me, my caddie, my – my playing partner or my equipment, I'm going to get a one shot penalty for that. So if I hit a ball and it hits my caddie, not only do I get a frustrated and angry caddie, I also got a one shot penalty added to my score. Now this time if the ball is in motion and it’s stopped or deflected by my opponent or his caddie, his equipment, there's no penalty for that. And actually I get the choice. I can choose whether to play the ball as it lies or replay it. So if I have hit a ball and it’s hit my opponent and he's knocked it into a water hazard, I'm going to replay it.
But if I have hit a ball and it’s hit my opponent and he's knocked it onto the green, I can then go and play that ball from where it is there, no penalty because it's not my fault. They hit it. And if it's a ball in motion is deflected or stopped by a fellow competitor, this is in stroke play, by a fellow competitor, a caddie or equipment in strokeplay, then it is deemed to be the same as an outside agency. So therefore I have to play the ball as it lies. It's just one of those unfortunate things. And if a ball is in motion and it’s stopped or deflected by another golf ball, I have to play it as it lies.
So if I hit my ball on a par three and it lands nicely on the green, but it rolls forwards and it hits somebody else's ball, I have to play it as it lies even if my ball was rolling nearer to the flag, nearer to the hole and it got stopped by another ball. That's just one of those breaks. I’ve to play as it lies, their ball gets dragged back to where I hit it. There's no penalty for either of us. It's just one of those things. Rules are slightly different when we're on the green. We'll cover that later. That's rules rule 19, a ball in motion stopped or deflected.